Segovia, Spain

Jason R. Matheson
5 min readNov 18, 2022

A feast for the senses. That’s the only way to properly describe the seductive city of Segovia located 45 miles northwest of Madrid. Spain’s excellent high-speed rail whisked me there in no time, with the top speed of Alta Velocidad Española exceeding 150 mph.

The weather worked perfectly this Friday. A rainy morning for train travel gave way to warm sun in the afternoon for hiking Segovia.

I however did not work my schedule perfectly. After walking to the Metro and riding to Madrid’s train station, I underestimated the time it would take to pass through security for the high-speed rail. Not to worry, I found a cafe and charged my phone before catching the next train. That’s travel — you give yourself a break and recognize you’re not going to do everything right every time.

Segovia is famous for three historic landmarks: a jaw-dropping Roman aqueduct, one of the last Gothic cathedrals constructed in Europe and the Alcázar, a castle built in the 11th century.

On top of that, the entire city center was declared a World Heritage site by UNESCO in 1985. After investigating each of the three main sights, I spent the rest of the afternoon just wandering Segovia’s maze of narrow streets.

Somehow I made up for missing my original train by arriving at the cathedral at exactly the right time to jump on the tour to the top of the tower. The sun broke from behind the clouds like a sign from heaven just as we reached the bells and the city glowed below us.

Segovia’s aqueduct, built in the first century AD, blew my mind. Here was a feat of Roman engineering you had to see to believe. Unmortared granite blocks were cut and assembled so expertly that gravity and the force of the rocks pushing on each other kept the entire structure standing for nearly 2,000 years.

The aqueduct channeled water from springs in the mountains 11 miles away to the city’s fountains, public baths and private houses. Amazingly, it was still in use until 1973!

I walked under, around and along the arches before climbing a staircase to look down its length from above. Can you imagine what an impression a structure like this made 2,000 years ago?

The Alcázar of Segovia beckoned from the other end of the city. The medieval fortress with its dramatic moat, drawbridge and soaring spires served as one of the templates for Walt Disney’s Cinderella Castle.

I cautiously peered over the edge as I approached the main gate and believe me, it was a long way down. If you asked a child with a vivid imagination to draw a castle, I guarantee it would look something like this.

Segovia provided sensory overload at every turn. The city and landscape matched the Spain I imagined before arriving —unique from any other location in Europe I’ve traveled.

What a fantastic day trip from Madrid. After all the hiking and historic thrills, I appreciated the fast train back to home base.

……….

Thanks for coming along on the trip. If you have questions or suggestions, tweet @JasonRMatheson. Missed an entry? Click here.

--

--

Jason R. Matheson

I prefer to travel slow. Enjoy history, design, architecture, cars, sports digital. Auburn alum, Sooner born.