Innsbruck on the river Inn.

Innsbruck, Austria

Jason R. Matheson
4 min readSep 28, 2015

Situated roughly midway between Munich and Verona, Innsbruck is ideally located in this Alpine valley. It’s on the river Inn and the word bruck comes from the same root as the modern German word “Brücke” meaning “bridge” which leads to “the bridge over the Inn”.

The sun was out and Innsbruck shined in late September.

I arrived this morning on an early train from Alpbach. What a contrast from that sleepy village! Innsbruck and Austria itself were once part of the vast Holy Roman, Hapsburg and Austro-Hungarian Empires. Plenty of imperial glitter remains.

Most of the old buildings are ornate and painted in subdued shades. It’s a pleasing and understated look that highlights the towering mountains and frothy blue river. That imperial past is evident with the double-headed eagle lording over the city that represents the church and the state.

The church and the state.

Austria’s historical association with Germany and participation in past wars were also marked by numerous memorials around the city.

Once I found my hotel, I rode the elevator up to my room on the fifth floor. My window opened out on the main square — wasn’t expecting this view.

My room and the view from my window. The final pic is one of my hotel (the yellow building on the left).

The only thing that has me puzzled is this contraption in the bathroom:

European bathrooms.

After hotel, my next spot of business was something for lunch. I found a good place around a hidden corner and promptly ordered a beer and their special. I made sure not to sit at the “Stammtisch”. This is very important — there’s usually a table marked Stammtisch at every restaurant in the German-speaking world. It’s meant for the regular customers who virtually reside at the same place every day. A big no-no to sit there by accident.

A great lunch and I avoided the faux pas of sitting at the Stammtisch.

After lunch, I wandered all over the city. The Hofgarten was originally laid out under the direction of Archduke Ferdinand II in the 1500s.

The Hofgarten

I thought this was a beautiful house:

I also saw a relief that reminded me of my brother Jarod and I and how we used to joust with broomsticks on our bikes. That would be Jarod in the pic below falling off his horse after a blow to the head:

This might explain things.

There were little touches here and there of a sophisticated European city. I liked the fur wraps for people who might get chilled sipping their wine out on the market square. So very Austrian.

Pass the wrap, darling.

I’m also always interested to see the cars we don’t get in the states. One thing very striking here to an American is that you NEVER see a truck. You see minivans, little SUVs and lots of station wagons but never an F150. Just not practical here. Small and funky evidently ARE practical here:

Small and funky cars are the norm.

Remember me telling you I thought the Austrians have a bit more of a sense of humor than their teutonic neighbors to the north?

I’m sure that was put there by accident, right?

The refugee crisis is all over the news in Europe and Germany recently closed down all train travel from Salzberg crossing its border. I’ll head north via Mittenwald in the morning. I’ll check back with you later from Deutschland. Auf Wiedersehen!

--

--

Jason R. Matheson

I prefer to travel slow. Enjoy history, design, architecture, cars, sports digital. Auburn alum, Sooner born.